Around Miami Things To Do Places To Go People To See Movies log into calendar / register
Search by keyword or venue View Listings For A Day
    space Add Event


Museum of Contemporary Art at North Miami


address  770 N.E. 125th St.
 North Miami, FL  33161
phone (305) 893-6211
hours Tue.-Fri. 11 am-5 pm; Sat. 1 pm-9 pm; Sun. 11 am-5 pm
parking Free
general adm $5; $3 students and seniors; free for children under 12, members, North Miami Residents and City Employees
www.mocanomi.org

Upcoming Events

MOCA: Monarchs: Brown and Native Contemporary Artists in the Path of the Butterfly”

Benefit/Fundraiser, Museum, Gallery
The Museum of Contemporary Art North Miami (MOCA) will present the group exhibition “Monarchs: Brown and Native Contemporary Artists in the Path of the Butterfly” from May 24 – Aug. 5, 2018. Curated by Risa Puleo, the exhibition features the works of 37 artists who are native to the Americas separated into conceptual categories including indigenous, immigrant and assimilated.      The exhibition focuses on the monarch, the only butterfly that migrates in two directions, as a geographic range and a metaphor. Monarchs (specifically those of eastern North American) fly from southern Canada through the Midwest on their way to Michoacán, Mexico and back.  This survey of artists from or living in the path of the monarch, brings to life the Dakota Access Pipeline and the call to build a wall in Mexico as unrelenting issues that create challenges for people native to the Americas — being separated by conceptual categories of indigenous, immigrant, and assimilated.    Like the butterfly, which takes at least four generations to completely navigate its way through middle America with inherited knowledge, these artists also use inherited cultural memory to showcase and explore historical narratives of their respective heritage through abstract techniques.    Artists incorporate processes such as basket weaving, beadwork, copper hammering, and quilting, and materials such as stucco, plaster, ceramics, and feathers, that hold a high degree of resonance within native, immigrant, and brown aesthetics and vernacular cultures. The exhibition also charts the movement of styles and approaches through large spans of time across the Americas, speaking to an inherited means of production and genealogy of form.  Admission to MOCA is $5, free for MOCA members and North Miami residents. An artist reception will take place on Thursday, June 14, 2018 with an admission cost of $10 to the general public, free to MOCA members and North Miami residents.
exhibit;art exhibit;art;museum;exhibition
Price: Admission to MOCA is $5, free for MOCA members and North Miami residents
Event Website: www.mocanomi.org
Improve this listing

Share


Schedule
 • Tue 6/19/18 at 10am-5pm 
 • Wed 6/20/18 at 10am-5pm 
 • Thu 6/21/18 at 10am-5pm 
 • Fri 6/22/18 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sat 6/23/18 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 6/24/18 at 10am-5pm 
 • Tue 6/26/18 at 10am-5pm 
 • Wed 6/27/18 at 10am-5pm 
 • Thu 6/28/18 at 10am-5pm 
 • Fri 6/29/18 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sat 6/30/18 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 7/1/18 at 10am-5pm 
 • Tue 7/3/18 at 10am-5pm 
 • Wed 7/4/18 at 10am-5pm 
 • Thu 7/5/18 at 10am-5pm 
 • Fri 7/6/18 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sat 7/7/18 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 7/8/18 at 10am-5pm 
 • Tue 7/10/18 at 10am-5pm 
 • Wed 7/11/18 at 10am-5pm 
 • Thu 7/12/18 at 10am-5pm 
 • Fri 7/13/18 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sat 7/14/18 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 7/15/18 at 10am-5pm 
 • Tue 7/17/18 at 10am-5pm 
 • Wed 7/18/18 at 10am-5pm 
 • Thu 7/19/18 at 10am-5pm 
 • Fri 7/20/18 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sat 7/21/18 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 7/22/18 at 10am-5pm 
 • Tue 7/24/18 at 10am-5pm 
 • Wed 7/25/18 at 10am-5pm 
 • Thu 7/26/18 at 10am-5pm 
 • Fri 7/27/18 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sat 7/28/18 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 7/29/18 at 10am-5pm 
 • Tue 7/31/18 at 10am-5pm 
 • Wed 8/1/18 at 10am-5pm 
 • Thu 8/2/18 at 10am-5pm 
 • Fri 8/3/18 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sat 8/4/18 at 10am-5pm 
 • Sun 8/5/18 at 10am-5pm 

Jazz at MOCA: Julio Montalvo

Jazz
The Museum celebrates Caribbean Heritage Month with a performance by Julio Montalvo as part of its monthly “Jazz at MOCA” series. Montalvo is a leading trombonist from Cuba. A songwriter, producer, arranger, session musician, and a Grammy award winner, he blends Afro-Cuban rhythms with elements of modern jazz.
live music;jazz;art;art exhibit;music;concert
Event Info: (305) 893-6211
Price: Free
Free
Event Website: mocanomi.org
Improve this listing

Share


Schedule
 • Fri 6/29/18 at 8pm