Around Miami Things To Do Places To Go People To See Movies log into calendar / register
Search by keyword or venue View Listings For A Day
    space Add Event


Museum of Discovery and Science


address  401 S.W. Second St.
 Fort Lauderdale, FL  33312
phone (954) 467-6637
hours Mon.-Sat. 10 am-5 pm; Sun. noon-6 pm
www.mods.org/

Upcoming Events

Hall of Heroes

Community Event
“Hall of Heroes” brings guests into the world of superheroes, crime-getters, gadgets and spies through an immersive experience. As soon as visitors enter the “Hall of Heroes,” they immediately find themselves in the thick of the action in an ambitious, custom-built space. Their journey takes them through several themed environments with surprises around each corner. Sponsored locally by the Museum’s official transportation partner, Brightline. • Movie prop-quality photo opportunities, including an authentic George Barris-built 1966 Batmobile. • Challenging, highly engaging interactives, intriguing, informative displays with props, costumes and more. • Fun, fascinating history and memorabilia.
museum;family;south florida;exhibit;hands-on
Event Info: (954) 713-0930
Price: $19 for adults, $18 for seniors (65+), $16 for military and children (2-12), and no charge for children age 1 and younger
Event Website: https://mods.org/exhibits/hallofheroes/
Improve this listing

Share


Schedule
 • Sat 7/20/19 - Mon 9/2/19 at 10am-5pm 

Superhero Training Academy

Children, Summer Camp
Have you ever dreamed of being a superhero? Do you think you can save the day? Superheroes are not born, they are made! Our Superhero Training Academy allows you and your little hero to discover the “super” power of science. This will be a fun-filled event for the entire family. Dates: Every Saturday from June 1 through August 10 (excluding June 8 and 22). Time: 9 a.m. – 12 p.m. Programming: • Private Exploration of Hall of Heroes Exhibit. • KABOOM! Science Show: Superhero Edition. • Superhero Meet and Greet. • Make a Superhero Gadget. • Screening of Superpower Dogs in the AutoNation IMAX Theater. Prices: Museum members • $25 Adults • $20 Children. Non-members • $35 Adults • $30 Children. Spots will fill up quickly! RSVP: https://www.eventbrite.com/e/superhero-training-academy-at-the-museum-of-discovery-science-tickets-61434992717 Getting here: Ride Brightline all summer long and save! Use the code MODSBL when booking your trip to get 25% off. Book here: https://www.gobrightline.com/. Partners: FLORIDA SUPERCON & GoBrightline.
family fun;children;family;museum;summer;camp
Event Info: (954) 467-6636
Price: $20 - $35
Event Website: https://www.eventbrite.com/e/superhero-training-academy-at-the-museum-of-discovery-science-tickets-61434992717
Improve this listing

Share


Schedule
 • Sat 7/20/19 at 9am-12pm 
 • Sat 7/27/19 at 9am-12pm 
 • Sat 8/3/19 at 9am-12pm 
 • Sat 8/10/19 at 9am-12pm 

MODS Otter Encounter

Animals, For the Family
In our newest visitor experience, come face-to-face with two of our otters! Our otter specialists will teach you about how they are cared for on a daily basis. Learn all about otters’ diet and get a look at the filtration system that keeps their pool looking clean. You’ll even have the opportunity to feed an otter and participate in a training session. Encounter lasts 45 minutes, six person maximum per group, one group per day. Please reserve a week in advance. Meet our otters face-to-face!
otter;animal;science;family;exclusive;museum
Event Info: (954) 467-6637
Ages: All ages
Price: $50 including Museum admission
Event Website: https://mods.org/programs/otter-encounter/
Improve this listing

Share


Schedule
 • Sat 7/20/19 at 1:30pm-2:15pm 
 • Sun 7/21/19 at 1:30pm-2:15pm 
 • Wed 7/24/19 at 1:30pm-2:15pm 
 • Sat 7/27/19 at 1:30pm-2:15pm 
 • Sun 7/28/19 at 1:30pm-2:15pm 
 • Wed 7/31/19 at 1:30pm-2:15pm 
 • Sat 8/3/19 at 1:30pm-2:15pm 
 • Sun 8/4/19 at 1:30pm-2:15pm 
 • Wed 8/7/19 at 1:30pm-2:15pm 
 • Sat 8/10/19 at 1:30pm-2:15pm 
 • Sun 8/11/19 at 1:30pm-2:15pm 
 • Wed 8/14/19 at 1:30pm-2:15pm 
 • Sat 8/17/19 at 1:30pm-2:15pm 
 • Sun 8/18/19 at 1:30pm-2:15pm 
 • Wed 8/21/19 at 1:30pm-2:15pm 
 • Sat 8/24/19 at 1:30pm-2:15pm 
 • Sun 8/25/19 at 1:30pm-2:15pm 
 • Wed 8/28/19 at 1:30pm-2:15pm 
 • Sat 8/31/19 at 1:30pm-2:15pm 
 • Sun 9/1/19 at 1:30pm-2:15pm 
 • Wed 9/4/19 at 1:30pm-2:15pm 
 • Sat 9/7/19 at 1:30pm-2:15pm 
 • Sun 9/8/19 at 1:30pm-2:15pm 
 • Wed 9/11/19 at 1:30pm-2:15pm 
 • Sat 9/14/19 at 1:30pm-2:15pm 
 • Sun 9/15/19 at 1:30pm-2:15pm 
 • Wed 9/18/19 at 1:30pm-2:15pm 
 • Sat 9/21/19 at 1:30pm-2:15pm 
 • Sun 9/22/19 at 1:30pm-2:15pm 
 • Wed 9/25/19 at 1:30pm-2:15pm 
 • Sat 9/28/19 at 1:30pm-2:15pm 
 • Sun 9/29/19 at 1:30pm-2:15pm 
 • Wed 10/2/19 at 1:30pm-2:15pm 
 • Sat 10/5/19 at 1:30pm-2:15pm 
 • Sun 10/6/19 at 1:30pm-2:15pm 
 • Wed 10/9/19 at 1:30pm-2:15pm 
 • Sat 10/12/19 at 1:30pm-2:15pm 
 • Sun 10/13/19 at 1:30pm-2:15pm 
 • Wed 10/16/19 at 1:30pm-2:15pm 
 • Sat 10/19/19 at 1:30pm-2:15pm 
 • Sun 10/20/19 at 1:30pm-2:15pm 
 • Wed 10/23/19 at 1:30pm-2:15pm 
 • Sat 10/26/19 at 1:30pm-2:15pm 
 • Sun 10/27/19 at 1:30pm-2:15pm 
 • Wed 10/30/19 at 1:30pm-2:15pm 
 • Sat 11/2/19 at 1:30pm-2:15pm 
 • Sun 11/3/19 at 1:30pm-2:15pm 
 • Wed 11/6/19 at 1:30pm-2:15pm 
 • Sat 11/9/19 at 1:30pm-2:15pm 
 • Sun 11/10/19 at 1:30pm-2:15pm 
 • Wed 11/13/19 at 1:30pm-2:15pm 
 • Sat 11/16/19 at 1:30pm-2:15pm 
 • Sun 11/17/19 at 1:30pm-2:15pm 
 • Wed 11/20/19 at 1:30pm-2:15pm 
 • Sat 11/23/19 at 1:30pm-2:15pm 
 • Sun 11/24/19 at 1:30pm-2:15pm 
 • Wed 11/27/19 at 1:30pm-2:15pm 
 • Sat 11/30/19 at 1:30pm-2:15pm 
 • Sun 12/1/19 at 1:30pm-2:15pm 

MODS Gala: Speakeasy

Benefit/Fundraiser
6 p.m. – 8 p.m. Cocktail Reception and Silent Auction. 8 p.m. - 11:30 p.m. Dinner and Live Auction. An Evening in the South Pacific presented by PNC Bank will honor Ronald L. Book with the 2018 Community Leadership Award for his commitment to the Museum and community at large. Guests will experience an exciting evening complete with a high-energy cocktail reception, impressive live and silent auctions, dinner and dancing. Current sponsors include PNC Bank, American Marketing & Management, BB&T, Bank of America, BankUnited, BECON TV, Berkowitz Pollack Brant, Brown and Brown Insurance, Carnival Foundation, Centuric, City Furniture, City National Bank, Doubletime Digital, Ellis Diversified, Florida Community Bank, Florida Power & Light Company, GL Homes, Go-Tilt, Grant Thornton, LLP, Greenberg Traurig, Gunster, Hudson Family Foundation, JetBlue, JM Family Enterprises, Jonathan Robertson, JP Morgan Chase Bank, Leo Goodwin Foundation, Lochrie & Chakas, PA, Miami Dolphins, Miami Project to Cure Paralysis, Motorola Business Solutions, National Jets, Northern Trust Bank, Publix Super Market Charities, Ronald L. Book, RV Retailer, LLC, Southern Glazer’s Wine & Spirits, Stiles Corporation, Total Wine & Spirits, and Wells Fargo. All proceeds will benefit the Museum’s mission to provide experiential pathways in lifelong learning in science for children and adults. For more information about this year’s event including tickets, sponsorship opportunities, program ads and donations please contact Hillary Wallace at 954.713.0918 or hillary.wallace@mods.net.
gala;event;affluent;fundraiser;music;dancing;cocktails
Event Info: (954) 467-6637
Price: Please contact Hillary Wallace by email, hillary.wallace@mods.net or phone, 954.713.0918
Event Website: https://mods.org/
Improve this listing

Share


Schedule
 • Sat 10/26/19 at 6pm-11:30pm