Around Miami Things To Do Places To Go People To See Movies log into calendar / register
Search by keyword or venue View Listings For A Day
    space Add Event


Deering Estate at Cutler


address  16701 S. W. 72nd Ave.
 Miami, FL  33157
phone (305) 235-1668
hours Daily 10 am-5 pm
general adm $12; $7 children 4-14
www.deeringestate.com

Flight Into Egypt

Flight Into Egypt

Art Show
Following a year-long restoration process, two rare, pre-17th century, stained-glass panels depicting the Holy Family’s Flight Into Egypt are on permanent display at the Deering Estate. Each piece depicts the traditional Flight into Egypt motif, the Holy Family’s journey to escape violence in their homeland from King Herod. During the Reformation period, circa 1530, many representations of religious iconography were intentionally destroyed.
The historic significance of these pieces cannot be overstated, as very few stained glass representations of religious art from this period have survived centuries marked by the ravages of war, political upheavals and natural deterioration. Across Europe, additional losses were sustained to the artifacts from that era, as “less important” assemblages went unprotected from the bombings during the First World War. After World War II, European governments placed restrictions on export of such national heritage pieces, further limiting the existence of such treasures in the United States.
Of the stained-glass panels from that era that have survived, there are only 14 other pieces on public display in Florida.
https://vimeo.com/362383075
Art;Christianity;Museum;
Event Info: (305) 235-1668
Ages: All ages
Price: $15 adults; $7 children; Senior & Military discounts on Tuesdays
Event Website: 100ladiesofdeering.org/flight-into-egypt/
Improve this listing

Share


Schedule
 • Wed 4/8/20 - Mon 4/13/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Wed 4/15/20 - Mon 4/20/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Wed 4/22/20 - Mon 4/27/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Wed 4/29/20 - Mon 5/4/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Wed 5/6/20 - Mon 5/11/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Wed 5/13/20 - Mon 5/18/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Wed 5/20/20 - Mon 5/25/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Wed 5/27/20 - Mon 6/1/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Wed 6/3/20 - Mon 6/8/20 at 10am-5pm 
 • Wed 6/10/20 at 10am-5pm