Around Miami Things To Do Places To Go People To See Movies log into calendar / register
Search by keyword or venue View Listings For A Day
    space Add Event


Miami Dade College - Kendall Campus – Martin and Pat Fine Theater


address  11011 SW 104 St.
 Miami, FL  33176


Waiting for Lefty

Waiting for Lefty

Play
Produced by the MDC Kendall Campus Theater Department, directed by Aaron Alpern and performed by the Miami Dade College Kendall Campus Theater students, Waiting for Lefty is a 1935 play by American Playwright Clifford Odets which electrified American theater forever. The play is a searing social indictment written in the depths of the depression, focusing on a group of taxi drivers planning a labor strike. Originally produced by the Group Theatre, a New York City-based company, the play was a major critical success in the early 1930s, running for 168 performances on Broadway, and was quickly adapted for smaller theaters across the country premiering in England in 1938. The main themes of the play are social class, exploitation, injustice, and fighting the status quo where the characters in the play are caught between choosing the safe and expedient route and standing up for their principles. MDC Kendall Campus, Martin and Pat Fine Theater, Building M,11011 SW 104 Street, Miami, FL 33176. Performances: Thursday, October 18, 8 pm. Friday, October 19, 8 pm. Saturday, October 20, 8 pm. Sunday, October 21, 2 pm matinee. Thursday, October 25, 8 pm. Friday, October 26, 8 pm. Saturday, October 27, 8 pm. Sunday, October 28, 2 pm matinee.
Event Info: (305) 237-2641
Price: Free
Free
Event Website: www.mdc.edu/onstage
Improve this listing

Share


Schedule
 • Thu 10/18/18 - Sat 10/20/18 at 8pm-9:30pm 
 • Sun 10/21/18 at 2pm-3:30pm 
 • Thu 10/25/18 - Sat 10/27/18 at 8pm-9:30pm 
 • Sun 10/28/18 at 2pm-3:30pm